All capabilities Documents and files

Read a 600-page PDF including its charts

Not OCR. The model reads the text and looks at each page, so a figure that only exists as a chart is still answerable.

DocsOfficially documentedTestNot tested by benchr Quick · API Docs checked September 1, 2026
Claude APIclaude.ai and the Claude appsClaude Opus 5Claude Sonnet 5+2

Overview

  • Accepts standard PDFs up to 32 MB per request and up to 600 pages, dropping to 100 pages when the model's context window is under 1M tokens.
  • Reads tables and charts as images alongside the extracted text, which is what makes financial and legal documents workable.
  • Works from a Files API file_id, so the same document can be referenced repeatedly without re-uploading it.

How it works

  1. 01Upload once through the Files API and reference the file_id, rather than sending base64 on every turn.
  2. 02Ask page-anchored questions. Requesting the page number with each answer makes verification cheap.
  3. 03Split anything past the page ceiling into ranges and keep the ranges stable, so answers stay comparable.
  4. 04Pair it with a JSON schema when the output is going into a database rather than a person's eyes.

Prompt

Read the attached document. For every figure you report, give the page number it came from and say whether it was printed as text or read from a chart or table image. If a figure is not stated in the document, write "not stated" rather than estimating it.

The page-and-provenance requirement is what turns a summary into something you can check.

Limits

  • Password-protected or encrypted PDFs are out - the requirement is a standard PDF.
  • Both the 32 MB and the page ceiling apply to the entire request payload, not just the PDF.
  • Above 20 image or document blocks in one request, a stricter per-image dimension limit applies to all of them.
  • Scanned pages inherit every vision limitation, including unreliable counting and approximate localisation.

Verification

benchr test runs

benchr has not run this capability. No test has been published.

benchr test runs →

Evidence

Not stated by the source

  • Extraction accuracy on any specific document class
  • Whether page count or page complexity drives token cost more
Source-check history
  • September 1, 2026DocsOfficially documentedFirst logged. Size, page and format requirements read from the vendor's support page.

Changes

Provider changes affecting this